Turning My (Incoherent) Rambles into a Coherent Reflection

Week Eight – I, Robot (2004)

Dir. Alex Proyas

I, Robot was a film that I struggled to engage with completely. I had seen it before and hated it, which clouded my ability to provide meaningful and insightful tweets about the content. I did not ‘like’ a single tweet from the viewing and only replied to my peers a few times. This was detrimental to my viewing experience because I was not able to adequately interact with my peers on a critical level but instead poked fun at the entire film.

Screen Shot 2019-05-28 at 5.50.03 pm
The only ‘serious’ tweet from Week Eight’s viewing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Week Nine – Robot and Frank (2012)

Dir. Jake Schreier

My engagement with others in the subject improved this week, however only by a small amount. I didn’t reply, like and retweet nearly as much as I had hoped prior to the viewing. The lack of engagement can be attributed to the fact that I enjoyed the film so much that I was watching it more than I was tweeting because I was enjoying the film so much.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

However my favourite tweet theorised about Frank’s dementia and if it had a deeper meaning to the plot of the film.

Screen Shot 2019-05-28 at 8.07.04 pm
My favourite tweet of Week Nine.

Week Ten – Marjorie Prime (2017)

Dir. Michael Almereyda

Marjorie Prime was a film that I feel confused many of us in the subject, however I feel it generated the most fascinating discussions. In this viewing I tried my best to critically analyse and wonder about the film’s subject matter and the ramifications of these ideas.

I started off with a theme that I felt was becoming more recurrent in the films we had been viewing in the subject, specifically Blade Runner, Ghost in the Shell and Robot and Frank.

Screen Shot 2019-05-28 at 8.16.50 pm

I’m quite proud of the tweet written below because it generated an interesting discussion thread about the identity of the the Walter Prime.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This week, I also tried to contribute meaningful information to discussion threads, instead of just adding humour like I usually did. This contribution was successful because it raised more questions about consent and AIs.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Week Eleven – Blade Runner 2049 (2017)

Dir. Denis Villeneuve

In Week Eleven I tried to focus on my engagement with my peers, as I found in previous weeks I wasn’t liking nearly enough tweets as I wanted. I liked a total of 14 tweets using the BCM325 hashtag and some of these tweets were replies to my own tweets. This was not as many likes as I had hoped, but was a definite improvement.

I also wanted to continue to participate and facilitate meaningful discussions about the film’s themes and ideas.

Screen Shot 2019-05-31 at 2.25.44 pm

Below is my favourite discussion from Week Eleven.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Week Twelve – The Matrix (1999)

Dir. Lana Wachowski and Lilly Wachowski

The Matrix is a cult film that I had never watched before. I did not engage in as many critical discussions as previous weeks and found myself instead providing commentary.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I believe Week Eight and Week Twelve were my weakest weeks of tweeting and Week Ten was my strongest week of tweeting, however Robot and Frank in Week Nine was my favourite film to view all semester.


One thought on “Turning My (Incoherent) Rambles into a Coherent Reflection

Leave a comment