Individual Game Ideas

In Week 7, we began brainstorming game ideas for our individual game project. To get the ideas flowing, we comprised a list of 10 game titles/ideas in 10 minutes. This was a difficult feat for me because my experience of game play is limited outside the BCM300 class. However, once everyone began reading their own lists, I began to realise I was over complicating the activity and that I should focus on my interests. Two particular ideas I like are ‘Get to the Festival: A Board Game‘ and ‘Choose Your Own Adventure: Band Life‘.

A large interest of mine is music and as someone who has been to their fair share of music festivals and concerts, it’s an area I’m familiar with.

Get to the Festival: A Board Game is focused on getting to the music festival and the preparation that goes into arrival and duration of the festival. The game is a lighthearted and humorous game that covers the fun and pitfalls of attending music festivals such as getting a barricade position to your favourite set of the day or losing your friends in the moshpit. Two sets of cards can be used such as bonuses and setbacks to determine the players position in the game and on the board.

maroochy-festival-970x450

(source)

Choose Your Own Adventure: Band Life is a roleplaying game where you determine the outcome of the game by choosing certain choices. I’m a big fan of this format in video games such as Life Is Strange because it’s interesting to see what the final outcome is based on your previous choices. The narrative revolves around the player being in a band and how their choices impact various scenarios one would encounter as a result of rising fame.

At this point I’m undecided about which game route to take as they both have pros and cons, however it will be interesting to see what route will be taken.

 


One thought on “Individual Game Ideas

Leave a comment